Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

Dhanushkodi is the tip point of a narrow stretch of land that extends to sea almost connecting Sri Lanka and India.

It was a small fishing town bustling with activity till 1964, when a cyclone hit it so hard that the entire town was wiped off including a train carrying around 100 passengers.

Now it looks like a ghost town with hardly any activity. Let me share a couple of images here, one was an old church and the other is a long abandoned fishing boat.

Image

Image

19 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

  1. I was sure I had been following you, but your posts did not appear on my reader.. I don’t want to miss any. That boat has seen better days… I would love to get lost in a ghost town 🙂 Imagine to have the whole place for yourself.

    Like

  2. Love the first shot…reminds of old fishermen who worked hard their whole lives, and they lived a good life (like Santiago in Hemingway’s Old Man and the Sea). A good life, and we see how these fishing villages have now become modern developments…and I miss the folklore of the old days. 🙂

    Of course, easy for me to say as I am very much a part of the modern/tech world 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your time, Randall and I really appreciate your comments 🙂

      Here is India, we could see a great balance between the new and old. It exists everywhere, and art forms and folklore are followed with great passion along with the technology worship.

      I am just back from an old ritual performing art called “Theyyam” here in my native. I’ll post the images soon 🙂

      Like

      • I think that is so important, and fantastic to hear that old art/folklore are followed and respected with passion along with the new technology. Both are important, a symbiotic type of relationship.

        Look forward to seeing your “Theyyam” images. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

