Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument (Big temple of Tanjavur)

The big temple of Tanjavur in the south Indian state of Tamil Nadu is an architectural marvel and an epitome of art and stone work.

You will be just amazed by the sheer size of this temple and will become speechless when the guide let you know that how a 60 tonne single piece “Kumbham”(top most piece) carved out of granite was erected on top of the 66 meter high tower.

And what would you say when you hear that all this been done a 1000 year back( completed in AD1010) ?

Let me share a few images of this super monument as part of the weekly challenge

Image

Image

Image

This temple is quite famous for the wall paintings, which are more than 400 years old. Most of the images are from the Hindu epics.

Image

36 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument (Big temple of Tanjavur)

  1. really wonderful variety of pictures. I like the 2nd and 3rd ones most – looking through the frames. 🙂 but all are nice and great for the challenge – and wow, 1000 years ago? – !#!@!

    Like

    • Absolutely, and can’t really compare the current era with the older times, right?

      The different kingdoms in south India reached their peak around 800 to 1000 years back, and these incredible structures are the proof.

      Like

  2. Funny, Sreejith, how I was just yesterday thinking, hmmm…..I’ve missed Sreejith….I wonder where he has been. Or else did I miss his latest post lately? And now here you are!

    These images are breathtaking. What can I say in mere words to even describe how I felt looking at them? The immensity of them boggles my mind and the incredible work of art….. speechless. I cannot even imagine being in person, looking up at these massive, glorious temples. *Goosebumps* Wow!!

    Exceptional shots as always!!! Thank you so much for bringing to us a part of the world that is so far away from most of us. Bless you!!! Love, Amy

    Like

    • It’s so kind of you, Amy 🙂

      Thank you so much for these incredible comments, it really means a lot to me 🙂

      Life in the southern part of the Indian subcontinent has not changed much for centuries and we had many a great kingdoms and kings.

      The great temples of the south are the best places to relive and feel how life was during those times.

      Each kingdom has a signature style of temple building and there by these places helps us to understand history as well.

      Have a beautiful day 🙂

      Like

      • This is what the USA does not have, Sreejith, history from ancient times. I can only well imagine what it feels like to be actually standing there, looking at these tremendous representations of another time. It boggles the mind to think how these temples were made! I so appreciate YOU bringing to me a part of the world I will never see first hand. But, through your eyes and words, I am experiencing it. That means a lot to me. Thank you so much!!!! Love, Amy

        Like

  3. Funny, Sreejith, how I was just yesterday thinking, hmmm…..I’ve missed Sreejith….I wonder where he has been. Or else did I miss his latest post lately? And now here you are!

    These images are breathtaking. What can I say in mere words to even describe how I felt looking at them? The immensity of them boggles my mind and the incredible work of art….. speechless. I cannot even imagine being in person, looking up at these massive, glorious temples. *Goosebumps* Wow!!

    Exceptional shots as always!!! Thank you so much for bringing to us a part of the world that is so far away from most of us. Bless you!!! Love, Amy

    Like

    • I was really awestruck, when I heard that the temple is 1000 years old and the story behind it’s construction…

      The south Indian state of Tamil Nadu is quite famous for such huge temples.

      Like

  4. Like the temple, your photos are magnificent. This is one temple I always wanted to see and finally reached here last year in hot summer. Apart from Meenakshi temple, this one is my fav.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Suyash 🙂

      Yea, as you said, it’s just an amazing temple. Only a few other temples could be compared with this one, like Chidambaram temple, Srirangam in Trichy and your fav Madurai meenaxi temple 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

