Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top (of an elephant)

We used envy at the mahout when ever we see an elephant, most of time during temple festivals.

Because, for us kids, it was the most prestigious job in the whole world, some one who takes care of an elephant.

Last week, just by chance I happened to see a temple festival, where three elephants were taking part in a procession.

I couldn’t resist the temptation, I just stopped my car, became part of the crowd and was reliving my childhood.

Let me share a couple of images here, of the lucky ones who were seated On Top of the mighty ones 🙂

Image

Image

41 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top (of an elephant)

  1. Very nice photos, there’s a celebratory mood about them. Four men on an elephant, that must be one massive elephant, and a strong one too. Glad you got to relive your childhood – always fun doing so 😉

    Like

  2. I LOVE this, Sreejith! Oh how you are bringing a world that I know so little of, into my life. For this I am so grateful. Great shot! I love the expressions on these men’s faces! xx Amy

    Like

    • Three guys on top of an elephant is common during the festival processions, but four is not so common.
      But, I don’t think the elephant was not much concerned about it, he walked so comfortably 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: 4-23-14 Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top (Enterprising Edition) | The Quotidian Hudson

  4. very nice Sreejith – I loved hearing how you stopped and got out to soak it up – it added to the feel. and the two photos together have a nice play on color – with the orangish-gold in both…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

