Wordless Wednesday: Visitors from Past

VisitorsFromPast-rs

30 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: Visitors from Past

    • When I was a kid, people used to visit all houses offering some kind of service like, mending shoes, umbrellas and sharpening the knifes and scissors etc;

      Now a days people goes to the town and get things done in respective shops, and the charm of these visitors from village side is gone.

      It was a nice little surprise when these two guys came down last day and I even got one of our kitchen knife sharpened by them, and didn’t waste an opportunity to photograph too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • πŸ˜€ oh yes, I remember that it was like that here too when I was a kid. I remember that once a man came by when Mum, sister and I were home alone. She opened the door, he sharpened all of our knives and asked a ludicrous amount of money for it. She got nervous and told my sister – go to the living room and be with Daddy (Mum thought she would scare the man), but the sister said: Daddy’s not home. What happened next I don’t remember well – I guess she paid what he asked for and never opened the door to tradesman again. I am not saying yours are shifty or thieves, just your explanation made me remember this experience from my distant past πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • I can’t stop laughing … there is a well known proverb in my mother tongue “Achan Pathayathil illa” means, “Dad is not there is the store room” πŸ™‚

          Hope you don’t need an elaboration to this proverb πŸ™‚

          Here also, we need to first negotiate and settle for an amount to be parted for their service, otherwise they will demand much more…

          I am so happy that this image could trigger your childhood memories… πŸ™‚

          Have a beautiful day, Paula πŸ™‚

          Like

    • That is one flywheel mechanism manually operated to sharpen knifes and scissors … πŸ™‚

      Something we used to see frequently during childhood and a rarity now a days πŸ™‚

      Thanks a lot for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Perfect photo. As Paula said and the comments above, the two men are in sync. It looks as if they are deep in conversation and lost in their own worlds. I get the feeling that they are on a mission to do something, go somewhere, or figure something out I hope you enjoyed your time with them πŸ™‚

    That looks like a very grassy neighbourhood, so I suppose it’s far away from the main town. I remember in Malaysia I visited relatives in areas like these and we had to be careful of any thugs around who will not hesitate to rob us πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Mabel πŸ™‚

      I took this image when these guys were returning from our compound in village, it’s so full of trees and greenery around here πŸ™‚

      The knife sharpening man and his friend, who’s a cobbler made a surprise visit to my home after a long time.

      It was a common sight during our childhood days, and we kids, go near them and watch the sparks when the scissors or knifes comes in contact with the flywheel πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely and lively, it almost looks like they will put down their feet on the ground to take the next step any minute now. It is in the moment.
    Well I grew up in North India, do not remember the knife sharpeners, but I am very familiar with such visitors too, except in my case they were dhuniyas (who work on reviving old cotton filled quilts and beddings :))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yea, you are so true, there used to be a procession of people from dawn to dusk, offering their service when I was a kid. The knife sharpeners, cobblers, those who repairs umbrellas, who mends sofa and chairs… and many mores…

      Now, it’s rarely seen in our place and when I saw these two guys, I felt they were doing a time travel…

      Thank you so much for your time, Sweta, and sharing your experience πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. After reading the previous comments, I now know what those 2 men were. At first I thought they were barbers but then I saw the wheel πŸ™‚ Reminds me of barbers going from door to door in my hometown Malacca eons ago, and it’s usually the little boys having their hair cut in the house garden πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so right, even I had a similar experience πŸ™‚

      In our place also, barbers used to come to our homes.

      There was a regular guy for my grand father and if he comes down to our home, my mother makes sure that my hair cutting is also done.
      Some times I used to run away seeing that person πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for reminding me of those wonderful years πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Amy πŸ™‚

      Yea, these two guys were in perfect sync, though they were from different backgrounds and trying their luck by visiting house after house for some small work.

      They looked perfectly at peace with themselves and with the world around πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

