Wordless Wednesday: Stop Not …

stop-not

30 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: Stop Not …

    • Thank you so much, Prakash πŸ™‚

      I have shot this image from a train during my travel from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya in Sri Lanka a few days back…

      We were giving training to the local communities to develop community based tourism projects in their villages.

      Their suffering was beyond our imagination, during decades of civil war and then under the military.

      What really inspired us was the positive attitude of the women under adverse circumstances and their entrepreneurial spirit…

      I wanted to share this story here and thought the image above could do it…

      I am so glad you liked it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • That photo has story more than what I had thought. Felt really happy after reading your comment.

        Now the phrase “Stop Not” and the image take me to the very different world. There is lot of positivity here.

        Thank you so much for giving the description. πŸ™‚ Pleasures and gratitude.. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is such a lovely scene. A group of girls wandering around to…school or home, I’m guessing. It must be a hot day hence the umbrella.

    Interesting to see the Stop sign there. It looks like quite a narrow path, a path that I would think is a bit too narrow for a car to pass through. It looks like a one way street. Maybe it is just a street meant for wandering and strolling around, I don’t know πŸ™‚

    I’ve heard India has very warm weather. But still, the locals keep wandering about. Keep walking, keep exploring πŸ™‚ I hope you are well, Sreejith. Photography is stunning as usual. Take care, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A week long trip to Sri Lanka turned out to be an eye opener for us…

      We were there to organize a training session and workshop for people who are interested to initiate a community tourism programme.

      Interacting with them gave an insight to the struggles they went through during the decades long civil war and how badly they wanted to rebuild their lives…

      As in any conflict zone, women and children suffered most but we could see that they are at the forefront in these initiatives.

      I really wish, they continue this positive spirit and stop not till they rebuild their lives and their country πŸ™‚

      I have no idea about where this road leads as I just took this shot from a moving train and once I saw that, I got it framed properly, I thought of using it to share this story πŸ™‚

      I am so glad that it worked πŸ™‚

      Have beautiful weekend, Mabel πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m trying to figure out why there would be a stop sign out in the middle of nowhere, or so it seems. Beautiful imagery, Sreejith. Love the presentation of this image and the story it tells when one just is quiet and listens. Thank you! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Amy for your observant comments and words of appreciation πŸ™‚

      I just wanted to share this story of human struggle in conflict zones and how people with right attitude rebuilds their lives against all odds πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Patty, for your words of appreciation πŸ™‚

      Though I started this blog to share my travel logs, it slowly became a photo blog and then now a ‘wordless Wednesday’ blog, he he πŸ™‚

      But, I really like this concept of ‘WW’ as it forces me to share images which could tell some stories …

      Also, it helps to have a healthy conversation in the comment section too πŸ™‚

      Have a beautiful weekend πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • You are right, Sidran, children and women suffers most in any conflict zones…

      But it was truly an eye opener for people like me from South India, who hardly faced any natural calamity or a man made one …

      There is so much to learn from their approach towards life …

      I am really glad that you liked this post πŸ™‚

      Have a nice day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • They should not, Indah…

      I just used this image to portray the life and struggles of women and girls in this country.

      Any place on earth, women and children bears the brunt of any war or conflicts, right?

      Sri Lanka went through decades of civil war and now they are able to experience peace finally…

      We could feel the positive spirit of men and women who are trying to overcome countless challenges and rebuild their lives πŸ™‚

      Community based tourism programmes is one area where we could intervene and help train the local community, that was the objective of our travel πŸ™‚

      I am so glad that you liked this shot, Indah πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you so much, Otto, for your appreciative comments πŸ™‚

      I was just lucky with the timing as I shot from a moving train, and though the image quality is not that good, I thought it could be used to tell a story, a real positive one from a civil war torn country…

      I am so glad it’s been well accepted πŸ™‚

      Have a beautiful day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • So good to hear that you liked this post, Amy πŸ™‚

      ‘Peace’ is something hardly experienced by the people of this island nation for long… and now they are enjoying.

      They are trying to overcome all challenges and move ahead in life, we could feel the determination and hope in them during our brief stint in Sri Lanka …

      Hope they don’t stop until the goal is reached πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you so much, Paula πŸ™‚

      I just used this image to convey my thoughts of land, it’s people and their resilience πŸ™‚

      I am so happy to be part of a programme to empower the local community, especially women…

      Like

Leave a Reply

